Literacy and Math

Books can raise awareness, create interest, and teach skills in a fun and powerful way.

A Teacher's Reflections

When I was in first grade, I mastered math placement.  Really.  Math is not my strong suit, but my teacher read aloud Millions of Cats by Wanda Gag.

img_2409 

The repeated text in the book is, “Hundreds of cats, thousands of cats, millions and billions and trillions of cats.”  I have come to chant those words, slapping my leg to the beat, every time I read this book to my preschool class.  I tell the children they need to help me say the words, and each time it appears in the book, they chant along with me, loud and clear.  Maybe my first grade teacher did the same thing.

img_2415

The illustrations are pen and ink, yet finding all those cats- hundreds and thousands and millions and billions and trillions- pulls children in.  They clamor to see the pictures.  The book was written in the 1920’s and continues to be a…

View original post 328 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Literacy and Math

  1. Thank you for the reblog, Tess.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

